Climate, energy and environment / Home energy and solar
How should households get solar?
Few homes have solar. Parties differ on loans, subsidies and rule changes to help.About 3% of New Zealand households have solar panels. EECA puts a small to medium rooftop system at $8,500 to $11,500, with a battery adding $5,000 to $15,000, and average savings of about $1,000 a year. Officials advising the government found the main barrier was the upfront cost. In August 2026 the government agreed to legalise plug-in solar panels and cut approval steps after a Ministry for Regulation review. For the election, the Greens, Labour, National, Opportunity and Te Pāti Māori back loans tied to the home and repaid over time, based on a council loan model called the Ratepayer Assistance Scheme; all but National add subsidies or publicly funded installs, and Te Pāti Māori a $1 billion fund for community and Māori-owned energy. ACT opposes subsidies and would let households sell exported power to other buyers and export more where the network has room; NZ First focuses on what households are paid for exported power. No party's solar plan has had an independent costing.
Uneven evidence. Some parties' plans have more published costings or analysis than others. Read what was found
As at 15 October 2026, no independent costing of any party's household solar plan was found. The Greens commissioned Infometrics to review the assumptions behind their whole energy package, and Labour cites loan savings modelling by SEANZ and Rewiring Aotearoa; neither is an independent costing of the policy. No outside analysis was found for National's, Opportunity's, ACT's, NZ First's or Te Pāti Māori's proposals; Te Pāti Māori's full energy policy, read on 17 October 2026, gives no costing beyond its $1 billion fund. Evidence sections therefore rely mostly on official advice about solar in general. This reflects what has been published, not a judgement on the plans.
ViewDepth
Party order is random for each visitor. Tap a party's answer (or its name in a table) for its full breakdown and sources.OrderMost seats first, counting the seats each party held before the 2026 election. Parties with the same number, including none, are in A–Z order.
Bottom lines on this question
What a party has publicly said it must get, or won't accept, to form or support a government after the election. Only the party's own statements count, quoted with their source. Parties marked Bottom line below have one on that answer.
No bottom line on this question found: ACT, Green, Labour, National, NZ First, Opportunity, Te Pāti Māori (checked 17 Oct 2026)
These parties propose similar policies, so they are compared on the same rows.
Household solar loan and subsidy schemes
4 of 7 parties
Labour and Opportunity both use the name Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, a council loan model designed by Local Government New Zealand, the Local Government Funding Agency and Rewiring Aotearoa. National's policy document calls its Home Energy Fund a narrower version of the same scheme (10-year loans, 20% equity), and the Greens' loans use the same 20/80 ownership split but with the government paying the interest. The schemes share a model, not their terms.
Question
Zero-interest clean energy loans (Power for All of Us)
SolarSaver
Home Energy Fund (Electrify NZ)
Abundant Energy (Ratepayer Assistance Scheme and Warmer Kiwi Homes expansion)
How it works
Zero-interest loans over 15 to 30 years, tied to the property and repaid through a separate levy; some owners can defer repayment until sale. The government pays the interest.
Government-backed loans through lines companies (at no more than the regulated cost of capital, put at about 6.5%; repaid on the power bill) or a council rates scheme Megan Woods says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates (no rate published); repayments set below expected bill savings
10-year loans from a government and council platform that pays the installer upfront, at about 2% below floating rates (party spokesperson); repaid through rates or on sale
Loans the party calls low-interest (rate not published) through a national council-run Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, tied to the property; councils borrow through the Local Government Funding Agency
Who qualifies
Homeowners with rateable property; the party says up to 90% of homeowners. Renters get a right to plug-in solar
Homeowners; renters through plug-in panels; subsidy of up to $3,000 for low- and middle-income homeowners and renters (income limits not published)
Ratepayers with at least 20% equity, in councils that choose to join
Rateable properties (eligibility not specified); low-income households through Warmer Kiwi Homes
What it covers
Rooftop solar, batteries, energy efficiency and electrification upgrades
Solar and batteries; the council scheme also covers heat pumps and other electrification
Solar, batteries, insulation, heat pumps and other electrification
Electrification loans; solar and electric appliances for low-income homes through Warmer Kiwi Homes
Extras
Solar on more than half of public homes within four years; $200m community energy; $80m Māori housing renewables; plug-in solar; fair export prices
Rooftop solar without a resource consent; small farm solar, batteries and micro-hydro permitted; plug-in panels on sale within six months
Government co-investment in community-owned generation and storage up to 15 MW
Cost and funding
About $429m over four years for the loans (party estimate); wider package funded by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes
$160m over four years (party estimate), from the Gas Security Fund
$7m one-off Crown equity for a 20% share; councils and the Local Government Funding Agency fund the rest
About $6m a year to run the loans and about $200m a year for Warmer Kiwi Homes (party estimates), from power company dividends
Start
Loans running within six months of entering government (party claim)
Subsidies, loans and advice service within 12 months of taking office
Not stated; needs a Local Government Act amendment
Not stated; Warmer Kiwi Homes expansion funded from 2028/29
How it works
Zero-interest loans over 15 to 30 years, tied to the property and repaid through a separate levy; some owners can defer repayment until sale. The government pays the interest.
Government-backed loans through lines companies (at no more than the regulated cost of capital, put at about 6.5%; repaid on the power bill) or a council rates scheme Megan Woods says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates (no rate published); repayments set below expected bill savings
10-year loans from a government and council platform that pays the installer upfront, at about 2% below floating rates (party spokesperson); repaid through rates or on sale
Loans the party calls low-interest (rate not published) through a national council-run Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, tied to the property; councils borrow through the Local Government Funding Agency
Who qualifies
Homeowners with rateable property; the party says up to 90% of homeowners. Renters get a right to plug-in solar
Homeowners; renters through plug-in panels; subsidy of up to $3,000 for low- and middle-income homeowners and renters (income limits not published)
Ratepayers with at least 20% equity, in councils that choose to join
Rateable properties (eligibility not specified); low-income households through Warmer Kiwi Homes
What it covers
Rooftop solar, batteries, energy efficiency and electrification upgrades
Solar and batteries; the council scheme also covers heat pumps and other electrification
Solar, batteries, insulation, heat pumps and other electrification
Electrification loans; solar and electric appliances for low-income homes through Warmer Kiwi Homes
Extras
Solar on more than half of public homes within four years; $200m community energy; $80m Māori housing renewables; plug-in solar; fair export prices
Rooftop solar without a resource consent; small farm solar, batteries and micro-hydro permitted; plug-in panels on sale within six months
Government co-investment in community-owned generation and storage up to 15 MW
Cost and funding
About $429m over four years for the loans (party estimate); wider package funded by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes
$160m over four years (party estimate), from the Gas Security Fund
$7m one-off Crown equity for a 20% share; councils and the Local Government Funding Agency fund the rest
About $6m a year to run the loans and about $200m a year for Warmer Kiwi Homes (party estimates), from power company dividends
Start
Loans running within six months of entering government (party claim)
Subsidies, loans and advice service within 12 months of taking office
Not stated; needs a Local Government Act amendment
Not stated; Warmer Kiwi Homes expansion funded from 2028/29
Other parties
Not in the table above3 parties
ACT
No subsidies; households could sell power to other buyers and export more where networks allow.ACT opposes solar subsidies; energy spokesperson Simon Court says "if solar stacks up, Kiwis are going to invest without handouts". Its election policy would let households sell the power they generate to a different company from the one they buy from, or to local businesses and community schemes, with metering, network charges and consumer protections. It would allow households to export more power where the network has room, make lines companies explain and justify restrictions, and require them to test major upgrades against options such as batteries. ACT has not published a cost or start date. The biggest tradeoff: ACT proposes no public spending on household solar, so households would still pay the upfront cost themselves; it has not said who would bear network costs from more exports.
NZ First
Pay home solar owners the same price for exported power as they pay.NZ First's main electricity policy would split the large power companies into separate generators and retailers. Within it, the party says "if you generate power at home like solar, you should be able to sell it back to the grid at the same price you pay for it". It has not said how that price would be set. NZ First has not proposed loans or subsidies for household solar. Associate Energy Minister Shane Jones gives the party's reason: "we're not keen on individual houses, because we fear middle class capture"; he prefers solar on marae, council buildings and large commercial roofs. No cost or start date has been published. The biggest tradeoff: solar owners would be paid more for exports, but with no design published it is unclear who would pay the difference.
Te Pāti Māori
$1 billion fund for Māori and community energy; solar finance and payment for exported power.Te Pāti Māori's 2026 policy manifesto would set up a $1 billion Energy Sovereignty Fund offering grants, concessional finance, guarantees, equity and co-investment, investing in reducing household energy costs, marae and papakāinga resilience, Māori-owned renewable generation, and community batteries and microgrids. It would support access to solar and batteries through "long-term, low-cost and zero-interest finance" and the Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, a council loan model, and would set a "fair-value framework" so households are "properly paid" for power they send back to the grid. Its climate section adds a $1 billion Pūngao Auaha Fund to put solar and insulation on marae, kura, papakāinga and housing. It has not published who would provide the finance, how export payments would be set, a funding source or a start date. The biggest tradeoff: communities would take ownership stakes in energy, but how much of the money would reach individual households is not known.
Parties are grouped by the approach they take. A party can take more than one.
Approaches
7 of 7 parties take at least one
Government-backed loans repaid over time5 parties
Green
Homeowner loans with government-paid interest, solar on public homes, and plug-in solar rights for renters.The Greens would set up a loan scheme, owned 20% by central government and 80% by councils and the Local Government Funding Agency, offering homeowners loans over 15 to 30 years for solar, batteries and other electrification. The government would pay the interest. Loans would be tied to the property and repaid through a levy; some owners could defer repayment until they sell. Renters would get a right to plug-in solar, and solar would go on more than half of public homes within four years. The party costs the loans at about $429 million over four years and says its wider energy package would be paid for by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes. The biggest tradeoff: borrowers pay no interest, but the government pays it over loans of 15 to 30 years, beyond the four years costed.
Labour
Government-backed solar loans, a subsidy of up to $3,000, and plug-in panels for renters.Labour's SolarSaver would offer two government-backed loans: one through lines companies at no more than the regulated cost of capital (about 6.5%, Megan Woods says), repaid on the power bill, and one through a council scheme repaid through rates, which Labour says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates; no rate has been published. Labour says repayments would be set below expected bill savings. Low- and middle-income homeowners and renters could get a subsidy of up to $3,000. Renters could use plug-in panels after a rule change. There would also be a $30 million community battery fund and free EECA advice. Labour costs the package at $160 million over four years, from the government's Gas Security Fund. The biggest tradeoff: the subsidy lowers upfront costs for some households, but it uses money set aside for gas field investment, and who qualifies is unpublished.
National
10-year government and council loans repaid through rates, and rooftop solar without a consent.National's Home Energy Fund would be a lending platform owned by central government and the councils that choose to join. It would pay an approved installer upfront, and the homeowner would repay the loan over ten years through their rates, or when they sell; a National spokesperson put the rate at about 2% below floating. Loans would cover solar, batteries and other electrification, for ratepayers with at least 20% equity in their home. The Crown would put in $7 million for a 20% share; councils and the Local Government Funding Agency would provide the rest. Its planning reforms would also let owners install rooftop solar without a consent. No start date has been given. The biggest tradeoff: ratepayers with enough equity could spread the cost over ten years, but renters, owners with less equity and those in councils that do not join would miss out.
Opportunity
Council-run loans for home electrification, and solar for low-income homes.Opportunity would set up a national Ratepayer Assistance Scheme run by local government, offering loans the party describes as low-interest for home electrification, tied to each rateable property. The party says the debt, borrowed through the Local Government Funding Agency, would sit off council and government books. It would also double the Warmer Kiwi Homes programme to about $200 million a year and extend it to solar and electric appliances for low-income households, and co-invest in community-owned generation and storage of up to 15 MW. The party puts the cost of running the loans at about $6 million a year, paid, with the rest of its energy plan, from Crown power company dividends of about $500 million a year. Loan rates, terms and a start date are not published. The biggest tradeoff: the plan uses existing dividends, but that money would no longer be available for other government spending.
Te Pāti Māori
$1 billion fund for Māori and community energy; solar finance and payment for exported power.Te Pāti Māori's 2026 policy manifesto would set up a $1 billion Energy Sovereignty Fund offering grants, concessional finance, guarantees, equity and co-investment, investing in reducing household energy costs, marae and papakāinga resilience, Māori-owned renewable generation, and community batteries and microgrids. It would support access to solar and batteries through "long-term, low-cost and zero-interest finance" and the Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, a council loan model, and would set a "fair-value framework" so households are "properly paid" for power they send back to the grid. Its climate section adds a $1 billion Pūngao Auaha Fund to put solar and insulation on marae, kura, papakāinga and housing. It has not published who would provide the finance, how export payments would be set, a funding source or a start date. The biggest tradeoff: communities would take ownership stakes in energy, but how much of the money would reach individual households is not known.
Pay part of the cost4 parties
Green
Homeowner loans with government-paid interest, solar on public homes, and plug-in solar rights for renters.The Greens would set up a loan scheme, owned 20% by central government and 80% by councils and the Local Government Funding Agency, offering homeowners loans over 15 to 30 years for solar, batteries and other electrification. The government would pay the interest. Loans would be tied to the property and repaid through a levy; some owners could defer repayment until they sell. Renters would get a right to plug-in solar, and solar would go on more than half of public homes within four years. The party costs the loans at about $429 million over four years and says its wider energy package would be paid for by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes. The biggest tradeoff: borrowers pay no interest, but the government pays it over loans of 15 to 30 years, beyond the four years costed.
Labour
Government-backed solar loans, a subsidy of up to $3,000, and plug-in panels for renters.Labour's SolarSaver would offer two government-backed loans: one through lines companies at no more than the regulated cost of capital (about 6.5%, Megan Woods says), repaid on the power bill, and one through a council scheme repaid through rates, which Labour says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates; no rate has been published. Labour says repayments would be set below expected bill savings. Low- and middle-income homeowners and renters could get a subsidy of up to $3,000. Renters could use plug-in panels after a rule change. There would also be a $30 million community battery fund and free EECA advice. Labour costs the package at $160 million over four years, from the government's Gas Security Fund. The biggest tradeoff: the subsidy lowers upfront costs for some households, but it uses money set aside for gas field investment, and who qualifies is unpublished.
Opportunity
Council-run loans for home electrification, and solar for low-income homes.Opportunity would set up a national Ratepayer Assistance Scheme run by local government, offering loans the party describes as low-interest for home electrification, tied to each rateable property. The party says the debt, borrowed through the Local Government Funding Agency, would sit off council and government books. It would also double the Warmer Kiwi Homes programme to about $200 million a year and extend it to solar and electric appliances for low-income households, and co-invest in community-owned generation and storage of up to 15 MW. The party puts the cost of running the loans at about $6 million a year, paid, with the rest of its energy plan, from Crown power company dividends of about $500 million a year. Loan rates, terms and a start date are not published. The biggest tradeoff: the plan uses existing dividends, but that money would no longer be available for other government spending.
Te Pāti Māori
$1 billion fund for Māori and community energy; solar finance and payment for exported power.Te Pāti Māori's 2026 policy manifesto would set up a $1 billion Energy Sovereignty Fund offering grants, concessional finance, guarantees, equity and co-investment, investing in reducing household energy costs, marae and papakāinga resilience, Māori-owned renewable generation, and community batteries and microgrids. It would support access to solar and batteries through "long-term, low-cost and zero-interest finance" and the Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, a council loan model, and would set a "fair-value framework" so households are "properly paid" for power they send back to the grid. Its climate section adds a $1 billion Pūngao Auaha Fund to put solar and insulation on marae, kura, papakāinga and housing. It has not published who would provide the finance, how export payments would be set, a funding source or a start date. The biggest tradeoff: communities would take ownership stakes in energy, but how much of the money would reach individual households is not known.
Allow plug-in solar and remove rules3 parties
Green
Homeowner loans with government-paid interest, solar on public homes, and plug-in solar rights for renters.The Greens would set up a loan scheme, owned 20% by central government and 80% by councils and the Local Government Funding Agency, offering homeowners loans over 15 to 30 years for solar, batteries and other electrification. The government would pay the interest. Loans would be tied to the property and repaid through a levy; some owners could defer repayment until they sell. Renters would get a right to plug-in solar, and solar would go on more than half of public homes within four years. The party costs the loans at about $429 million over four years and says its wider energy package would be paid for by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes. The biggest tradeoff: borrowers pay no interest, but the government pays it over loans of 15 to 30 years, beyond the four years costed.
Labour
Government-backed solar loans, a subsidy of up to $3,000, and plug-in panels for renters.Labour's SolarSaver would offer two government-backed loans: one through lines companies at no more than the regulated cost of capital (about 6.5%, Megan Woods says), repaid on the power bill, and one through a council scheme repaid through rates, which Labour says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates; no rate has been published. Labour says repayments would be set below expected bill savings. Low- and middle-income homeowners and renters could get a subsidy of up to $3,000. Renters could use plug-in panels after a rule change. There would also be a $30 million community battery fund and free EECA advice. Labour costs the package at $160 million over four years, from the government's Gas Security Fund. The biggest tradeoff: the subsidy lowers upfront costs for some households, but it uses money set aside for gas field investment, and who qualifies is unpublished.
National
10-year government and council loans repaid through rates, and rooftop solar without a consent.National's Home Energy Fund would be a lending platform owned by central government and the councils that choose to join. It would pay an approved installer upfront, and the homeowner would repay the loan over ten years through their rates, or when they sell; a National spokesperson put the rate at about 2% below floating. Loans would cover solar, batteries and other electrification, for ratepayers with at least 20% equity in their home. The Crown would put in $7 million for a 20% share; councils and the Local Government Funding Agency would provide the rest. Its planning reforms would also let owners install rooftop solar without a consent. No start date has been given. The biggest tradeoff: ratepayers with enough equity could spread the cost over ten years, but renters, owners with less equity and those in councils that do not join would miss out.
Change what households are paid for exported power5 parties
ACT
No subsidies; households could sell power to other buyers and export more where networks allow.ACT opposes solar subsidies; energy spokesperson Simon Court says "if solar stacks up, Kiwis are going to invest without handouts". Its election policy would let households sell the power they generate to a different company from the one they buy from, or to local businesses and community schemes, with metering, network charges and consumer protections. It would allow households to export more power where the network has room, make lines companies explain and justify restrictions, and require them to test major upgrades against options such as batteries. ACT has not published a cost or start date. The biggest tradeoff: ACT proposes no public spending on household solar, so households would still pay the upfront cost themselves; it has not said who would bear network costs from more exports.
Green
Homeowner loans with government-paid interest, solar on public homes, and plug-in solar rights for renters.The Greens would set up a loan scheme, owned 20% by central government and 80% by councils and the Local Government Funding Agency, offering homeowners loans over 15 to 30 years for solar, batteries and other electrification. The government would pay the interest. Loans would be tied to the property and repaid through a levy; some owners could defer repayment until they sell. Renters would get a right to plug-in solar, and solar would go on more than half of public homes within four years. The party costs the loans at about $429 million over four years and says its wider energy package would be paid for by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes. The biggest tradeoff: borrowers pay no interest, but the government pays it over loans of 15 to 30 years, beyond the four years costed.
Labour
Government-backed solar loans, a subsidy of up to $3,000, and plug-in panels for renters.Labour's SolarSaver would offer two government-backed loans: one through lines companies at no more than the regulated cost of capital (about 6.5%, Megan Woods says), repaid on the power bill, and one through a council scheme repaid through rates, which Labour says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates; no rate has been published. Labour says repayments would be set below expected bill savings. Low- and middle-income homeowners and renters could get a subsidy of up to $3,000. Renters could use plug-in panels after a rule change. There would also be a $30 million community battery fund and free EECA advice. Labour costs the package at $160 million over four years, from the government's Gas Security Fund. The biggest tradeoff: the subsidy lowers upfront costs for some households, but it uses money set aside for gas field investment, and who qualifies is unpublished.
NZ First
Pay home solar owners the same price for exported power as they pay.NZ First's main electricity policy would split the large power companies into separate generators and retailers. Within it, the party says "if you generate power at home like solar, you should be able to sell it back to the grid at the same price you pay for it". It has not said how that price would be set. NZ First has not proposed loans or subsidies for household solar. Associate Energy Minister Shane Jones gives the party's reason: "we're not keen on individual houses, because we fear middle class capture"; he prefers solar on marae, council buildings and large commercial roofs. No cost or start date has been published. The biggest tradeoff: solar owners would be paid more for exports, but with no design published it is unclear who would pay the difference.
Te Pāti Māori
$1 billion fund for Māori and community energy; solar finance and payment for exported power.Te Pāti Māori's 2026 policy manifesto would set up a $1 billion Energy Sovereignty Fund offering grants, concessional finance, guarantees, equity and co-investment, investing in reducing household energy costs, marae and papakāinga resilience, Māori-owned renewable generation, and community batteries and microgrids. It would support access to solar and batteries through "long-term, low-cost and zero-interest finance" and the Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, a council loan model, and would set a "fair-value framework" so households are "properly paid" for power they send back to the grid. Its climate section adds a $1 billion Pūngao Auaha Fund to put solar and insulation on marae, kura, papakāinga and housing. It has not published who would provide the finance, how export payments would be set, a funding source or a start date. The biggest tradeoff: communities would take ownership stakes in energy, but how much of the money would reach individual households is not known.
Fund community and Māori-owned energy4 parties
Green
Homeowner loans with government-paid interest, solar on public homes, and plug-in solar rights for renters.The Greens would set up a loan scheme, owned 20% by central government and 80% by councils and the Local Government Funding Agency, offering homeowners loans over 15 to 30 years for solar, batteries and other electrification. The government would pay the interest. Loans would be tied to the property and repaid through a levy; some owners could defer repayment until they sell. Renters would get a right to plug-in solar, and solar would go on more than half of public homes within four years. The party costs the loans at about $429 million over four years and says its wider energy package would be paid for by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes. The biggest tradeoff: borrowers pay no interest, but the government pays it over loans of 15 to 30 years, beyond the four years costed.
Labour
Government-backed solar loans, a subsidy of up to $3,000, and plug-in panels for renters.Labour's SolarSaver would offer two government-backed loans: one through lines companies at no more than the regulated cost of capital (about 6.5%, Megan Woods says), repaid on the power bill, and one through a council scheme repaid through rates, which Labour says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates; no rate has been published. Labour says repayments would be set below expected bill savings. Low- and middle-income homeowners and renters could get a subsidy of up to $3,000. Renters could use plug-in panels after a rule change. There would also be a $30 million community battery fund and free EECA advice. Labour costs the package at $160 million over four years, from the government's Gas Security Fund. The biggest tradeoff: the subsidy lowers upfront costs for some households, but it uses money set aside for gas field investment, and who qualifies is unpublished.
Opportunity
Council-run loans for home electrification, and solar for low-income homes.Opportunity would set up a national Ratepayer Assistance Scheme run by local government, offering loans the party describes as low-interest for home electrification, tied to each rateable property. The party says the debt, borrowed through the Local Government Funding Agency, would sit off council and government books. It would also double the Warmer Kiwi Homes programme to about $200 million a year and extend it to solar and electric appliances for low-income households, and co-invest in community-owned generation and storage of up to 15 MW. The party puts the cost of running the loans at about $6 million a year, paid, with the rest of its energy plan, from Crown power company dividends of about $500 million a year. Loan rates, terms and a start date are not published. The biggest tradeoff: the plan uses existing dividends, but that money would no longer be available for other government spending.
Te Pāti Māori
$1 billion fund for Māori and community energy; solar finance and payment for exported power.Te Pāti Māori's 2026 policy manifesto would set up a $1 billion Energy Sovereignty Fund offering grants, concessional finance, guarantees, equity and co-investment, investing in reducing household energy costs, marae and papakāinga resilience, Māori-owned renewable generation, and community batteries and microgrids. It would support access to solar and batteries through "long-term, low-cost and zero-interest finance" and the Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, a council loan model, and would set a "fair-value framework" so households are "properly paid" for power they send back to the grid. Its climate section adds a $1 billion Pūngao Auaha Fund to put solar and insulation on marae, kura, papakāinga and housing. It has not published who would provide the finance, how export payments would be set, a funding source or a start date. The biggest tradeoff: communities would take ownership stakes in energy, but how much of the money would reach individual households is not known.
Each party's whole answer, under the same headings for every party.
ACT
No subsidies; households could sell power to other buyers and export more where networks allow.ACT opposes solar subsidies; energy spokesperson Simon Court says "if solar stacks up, Kiwis are going to invest without handouts". Its election policy would let households sell the power they generate to a different company from the one they buy from, or to local businesses and community schemes, with metering, network charges and consumer protections. It would allow households to export more power where the network has room, make lines companies explain and justify restrictions, and require them to test major upgrades against options such as batteries. ACT has not published a cost or start date. The biggest tradeoff: ACT proposes no public spending on household solar, so households would still pay the upfront cost themselves; it has not said who would bear network costs from more exports.
How it works
Not stated
Who qualifies
Not stated
What it covers
Not stated
Extras
Not stated
Cost and funding
Not stated
Start
Not stated
Green
Homeowner loans with government-paid interest, solar on public homes, and plug-in solar rights for renters.The Greens would set up a loan scheme, owned 20% by central government and 80% by councils and the Local Government Funding Agency, offering homeowners loans over 15 to 30 years for solar, batteries and other electrification. The government would pay the interest. Loans would be tied to the property and repaid through a levy; some owners could defer repayment until they sell. Renters would get a right to plug-in solar, and solar would go on more than half of public homes within four years. The party costs the loans at about $429 million over four years and says its wider energy package would be paid for by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes. The biggest tradeoff: borrowers pay no interest, but the government pays it over loans of 15 to 30 years, beyond the four years costed.
How it works
Zero-interest loans over 15 to 30 years, tied to the property and repaid through a separate levy; some owners can defer repayment until sale. The government pays the interest.Zero-interest loans over 15 to 30 years, tied to the property and repaid through a separate levy; some owners can defer repayment until sale. The government pays the interest.
Who qualifies
Homeowners with rateable property; the party says up to 90% of homeowners. Renters get a right to plug-in solarHomeowners with rateable property; the party says up to 90% of homeowners. Renters get a right to plug-in solar
What it covers
Rooftop solar, batteries, energy efficiency and electrification upgradesRooftop solar, batteries, energy efficiency and electrification upgrades
Extras
Solar on more than half of public homes within four years; $200m community energy; $80m Māori housing renewables; plug-in solar; fair export pricesSolar on more than half of public homes within four years; $200m community energy; $80m Māori housing renewables; plug-in solar; fair export prices
Cost and funding
About $429m over four years for the loans (party estimate); wider package funded by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changesAbout $429m over four years for the loans (party estimate); wider package funded by its proposed wealth tax and other tax changes
Start
Loans running within six months of entering government (party claim)Loans running within six months of entering government (party claim)
Labour
Government-backed solar loans, a subsidy of up to $3,000, and plug-in panels for renters.Labour's SolarSaver would offer two government-backed loans: one through lines companies at no more than the regulated cost of capital (about 6.5%, Megan Woods says), repaid on the power bill, and one through a council scheme repaid through rates, which Labour says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates; no rate has been published. Labour says repayments would be set below expected bill savings. Low- and middle-income homeowners and renters could get a subsidy of up to $3,000. Renters could use plug-in panels after a rule change. There would also be a $30 million community battery fund and free EECA advice. Labour costs the package at $160 million over four years, from the government's Gas Security Fund. The biggest tradeoff: the subsidy lowers upfront costs for some households, but it uses money set aside for gas field investment, and who qualifies is unpublished.
How it works
Government-backed loans through lines companies (at no more than the regulated cost of capital, put at about 6.5%; repaid on the power bill) or a council rates scheme Megan Woods says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates (no rate published); repayments set below expected bill savingsGovernment-backed loans through lines companies (at no more than the regulated cost of capital, put at about 6.5%; repaid on the power bill) or a council rates scheme Megan Woods says was designed to offer rates below bank floating rates (no rate published); repayments set below expected bill savings
Who qualifies
Homeowners; renters through plug-in panels; subsidy of up to $3,000 for low- and middle-income homeowners and renters (income limits not published)Homeowners; renters through plug-in panels; subsidy of up to $3,000 for low- and middle-income homeowners and renters (income limits not published)
What it covers
Solar and batteries; the council scheme also covers heat pumps and other electrificationSolar and batteries; the council scheme also covers heat pumps and other electrification
$160m over four years (party estimate), from the Gas Security Fund$160m over four years (party estimate), from the Gas Security Fund
Start
Subsidies, loans and advice service within 12 months of taking officeSubsidies, loans and advice service within 12 months of taking office
National
10-year government and council loans repaid through rates, and rooftop solar without a consent.National's Home Energy Fund would be a lending platform owned by central government and the councils that choose to join. It would pay an approved installer upfront, and the homeowner would repay the loan over ten years through their rates, or when they sell; a National spokesperson put the rate at about 2% below floating. Loans would cover solar, batteries and other electrification, for ratepayers with at least 20% equity in their home. The Crown would put in $7 million for a 20% share; councils and the Local Government Funding Agency would provide the rest. Its planning reforms would also let owners install rooftop solar without a consent. No start date has been given. The biggest tradeoff: ratepayers with enough equity could spread the cost over ten years, but renters, owners with less equity and those in councils that do not join would miss out.
How it works
10-year loans from a government and council platform that pays the installer upfront, at about 2% below floating rates (party spokesperson); repaid through rates or on sale10-year loans from a government and council platform that pays the installer upfront, at about 2% below floating rates (party spokesperson); repaid through rates or on sale
Who qualifies
Ratepayers with at least 20% equity, in councils that choose to joinRatepayers with at least 20% equity, in councils that choose to join
What it covers
Solar, batteries, insulation, heat pumps and other electrificationSolar, batteries, insulation, heat pumps and other electrification
Extras
Rooftop solar without a resource consent; small farm solar, batteries and micro-hydro permitted; plug-in panels on sale within six monthsRooftop solar without a resource consent; small farm solar, batteries and micro-hydro permitted; plug-in panels on sale within six months
Cost and funding
$7m one-off Crown equity for a 20% share; councils and the Local Government Funding Agency fund the rest$7m one-off Crown equity for a 20% share; councils and the Local Government Funding Agency fund the rest
Start
Not stated; needs a Local Government Act amendmentNot stated; needs a Local Government Act amendment
NZ First
Pay home solar owners the same price for exported power as they pay.NZ First's main electricity policy would split the large power companies into separate generators and retailers. Within it, the party says "if you generate power at home like solar, you should be able to sell it back to the grid at the same price you pay for it". It has not said how that price would be set. NZ First has not proposed loans or subsidies for household solar. Associate Energy Minister Shane Jones gives the party's reason: "we're not keen on individual houses, because we fear middle class capture"; he prefers solar on marae, council buildings and large commercial roofs. No cost or start date has been published. The biggest tradeoff: solar owners would be paid more for exports, but with no design published it is unclear who would pay the difference.
How it works
Not stated
Who qualifies
Not stated
What it covers
Not stated
Extras
Not stated
Cost and funding
Not stated
Start
Not stated
Opportunity
Council-run loans for home electrification, and solar for low-income homes.Opportunity would set up a national Ratepayer Assistance Scheme run by local government, offering loans the party describes as low-interest for home electrification, tied to each rateable property. The party says the debt, borrowed through the Local Government Funding Agency, would sit off council and government books. It would also double the Warmer Kiwi Homes programme to about $200 million a year and extend it to solar and electric appliances for low-income households, and co-invest in community-owned generation and storage of up to 15 MW. The party puts the cost of running the loans at about $6 million a year, paid, with the rest of its energy plan, from Crown power company dividends of about $500 million a year. Loan rates, terms and a start date are not published. The biggest tradeoff: the plan uses existing dividends, but that money would no longer be available for other government spending.
How it works
Loans the party calls low-interest (rate not published) through a national council-run Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, tied to the property; councils borrow through the Local Government Funding AgencyLoans the party calls low-interest (rate not published) through a national council-run Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, tied to the property; councils borrow through the Local Government Funding Agency
Who qualifies
Rateable properties (eligibility not specified); low-income households through Warmer Kiwi HomesRateable properties (eligibility not specified); low-income households through Warmer Kiwi Homes
What it covers
Electrification loans; solar and electric appliances for low-income homes through Warmer Kiwi HomesElectrification loans; solar and electric appliances for low-income homes through Warmer Kiwi Homes
Extras
Government co-investment in community-owned generation and storage up to 15 MWGovernment co-investment in community-owned generation and storage up to 15 MW
Cost and funding
About $6m a year to run the loans and about $200m a year for Warmer Kiwi Homes (party estimates), from power company dividendsAbout $6m a year to run the loans and about $200m a year for Warmer Kiwi Homes (party estimates), from power company dividends
Start
Not stated; Warmer Kiwi Homes expansion funded from 2028/29Not stated; Warmer Kiwi Homes expansion funded from 2028/29
Te Pāti Māori
$1 billion fund for Māori and community energy; solar finance and payment for exported power.Te Pāti Māori's 2026 policy manifesto would set up a $1 billion Energy Sovereignty Fund offering grants, concessional finance, guarantees, equity and co-investment, investing in reducing household energy costs, marae and papakāinga resilience, Māori-owned renewable generation, and community batteries and microgrids. It would support access to solar and batteries through "long-term, low-cost and zero-interest finance" and the Ratepayer Assistance Scheme, a council loan model, and would set a "fair-value framework" so households are "properly paid" for power they send back to the grid. Its climate section adds a $1 billion Pūngao Auaha Fund to put solar and insulation on marae, kura, papakāinga and housing. It has not published who would provide the finance, how export payments would be set, a funding source or a start date. The biggest tradeoff: communities would take ownership stakes in energy, but how much of the money would reach individual households is not known.
How it works
Not stated
Who qualifies
Not stated
What it covers
Not stated
Extras
Not stated
Cost and funding
Not stated
Start
Not stated
Background and sources
Uptake and cost. National says 3% of households have solar, against about 9% in the US and one in three in Australia (National). EECA estimates a small to medium rooftop system costs $8,500 to $11,500, a battery $5,000 to $15,000, and that solar saves about $1,000 a year on average (1News). The Sustainable Energy Association (SEANZ) says installation costs fell 33% between 2019 and 2025 while power bills rose 23% (The Spinoff).
What officials advised. Released briefings show officials studied Australian-style rebates. RNZ reports they found upfront cost was the dominant barrier, that uptake was mostly among households able to finance it themselves, and that rebates accelerate uptake. They also flagged Australia's experience of midday exports "causing congestion and other network infrastructure upgrade needs". In October 2025 the government chose consenting and technical changes instead, which its own impact statement said had an incentive effect "not clear and expected to be minor" (RNZ via ODT).
The council loan model. Local Government New Zealand's Ratepayer Assistance Scheme would let councils borrow cheaply through the Local Government Funding Agency and lend to homeowners, off council balance sheets, with repayments through rates. It needs a law change and about $7 million of Crown equity, and LGNZ expects it could be running 12 to 18 months after the law is changed and councils join (LGNZ). Existing low- or no-interest bank green loans are open only to mortgage holders, which LGNZ told 1News excludes about 80% of people, including renters and retirees without a mortgage (1News; RNZ via Now.Solar). The Greens, Labour, National, Opportunity and Te Pāti Māori all back a version of it (RNZ via ODT; Opportunity).
Rule changes already under way. A Ministry for Regulation review ordered by Regulation Minister and ACT leader David Seymour recommended legalising plug-in solar, moving to risk-based inspections and exempting more systems from resource consent. The government says a typical home approval would fall from about $640 and three months to $200 and six days, and the ministry estimates net benefits of $28 million to about $50 million over 10 years (Ministry for Regulation). The government agreed on 17 August 2026 to progress the recommendations (National), which the ministry expects to take up to 18 months (The Spinoff). Every party proposing plug-in solar is therefore building on a change already agreed.
Effects on the grid. Modelling commissioned by MBIE found very high rooftop solar uptake could bring very low summer prices and more volatile winter prices, and that network investment needs would likely be substantial if exports and peak demand were unmanaged, and that active management, including batteries, could substantially reduce it (MBIE).